Fancy knitted rib welt from Kim Hargreaves

I’m knitting a sweater from one of my favourite pattern books – ‘Misty‘ by Kim Hargreaves.

It’s a bit of a love/hate relationship – I love the patterns, but I’m not enjoying this complex welt. It’s from the pattern ‘Haze’, which is a described as “a sweater with a generous neckline, deep Raglans, and eyelet trim”. Pretty!

rib knitted sideways for sweater welt

An unusual waistband/welt – this is knitted lengthways and stitches picked up to make the main body of the garment

The welt is knitted ‘lengthways’, so it doesn’t have so much stretch as conventional ribs. I’ve made a larger size because it looked so short and there was not much stretch.

The main body of the garment is simple – just stocking stitch and nice and straightforward.

So let’s see what happens……. the yarn is 100% cotton (Rowan Pima cotton), which in my experience can be inclined towards bagginess. It might just add to the loose and laid back feel of this design?!

I’ve had this yarn in my stash for ages and I’m glad that progress is being made. I’ve taken it out and put it back a few times just because of needing to concentrate on the eyelet welt. Now I just need to finish it before the weather warms up………not much hope of that for a couple of weeks……?

This entry was posted in Clothing, Knitting, Knitting book review, Rowan, Sweater and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

