Book review: Knitting block by block by Nicky Epstein

I recently purchased “Knitting block by block” from Amazon and it arrived yesterday.

It is my first Nicky Epstein book/pattern, and I came across it whilst browsing through the knitting network site Ravelry

I couldn’t resist the purchase, because the it seemed so much more innovative than other books, and I have not been disapointed.

For me, the beauty is in it’s capacity to inspire. I liknitting block by blockke the way that the author explains different ways of combining blocks and colours, and uses different techniques (like cable, I-cord, Fairisle, embroidery and beads). There are clever uses of layers and texture (for example the ‘smocking’ block and ‘multilayered lace’ patterns), and lots of ways of dividing blocks into striped, triangular sections and rectangular blocks.

Although I would say that in general, the skill level is quite advanced, there are easier patterns too, and the results from combining blocks can be stunning! The book is beautifully illustrated with sumptuous colour photos of each block design knitted up.

With 150 blocks to choose from, it would be quite acceptable to mix and match using the author’s suggestions, but her patterns also give you the freedom to adapt and develop your own designs.

This book was published in 2010, and the patterns for sweaters, scarfs and bags are (in my opinion) up-to date and very wearable.

So, if you haven’t had a look at this book yet, why not browse through the “Look inside” at amazon? If you already have the book or have made any of the blocks I would be grateful on comments, review or feedback.

I can’t wait to get started…. Happy knitting!

About Art with textiles

I am an emerging artist and a final year Textiles degree student with the Open Collage of the Arts, living in Torrevieja, SE Spain. I have always been interested in human identity and the way in which people relate to each other and their environment. My practice currently explores Torrevieja’s rich, diverse and changing multicultural landscape through the metaphors of fragmentation, homogenisation and cultural porosity. Colour is my primary method of visual communication, and I have a particular interest in the weaving and the adaption of traditional techniques to reflect hybrid cultures. I am also concurrently involved in a collaborative project with a data analyst to visualise audio recordings taken from around Torrevieja. I hope that my practice can provide insight into the relationship between identity and place, whilst celebrating diversity, our individual and shared identities.
This entry was posted in Knitting book review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment